BB and CC creams, oh my!

When it comes to skin care and makeup, the cosmetics world has given us women a great deal of products to choose from. While we could all spend hours and days reading up on everything you could ever put on your face and why one thing is better than the other or the difference between every cream, foam, and serum, let’s just focus on a few things for now.
BB CREAM a.k.a BEAUTY BALM
BB creams are otherwise known as blemish balms outside of the western market. BB creams are promoted to be the all-in-one savior to women. Its purpose was to replace the need for a serum, moisturizer, primer, foundation, and sunblock. BB creams can be worn as a tinted moisturizer on its own, or as a light foundation under a powder. Do not mistake BB creams as foundations as they do not provide as much coverage as your regular foundation would. You’ll notice anywhere BB creams are sold that there is not a great variety of shades.
Cos41aa_2_pack-shot
L’Oreal’s Magic Skin Beautifier BB Cream only comes in four shades: fair, light, medium, and deep. The reason for the low shade count is that BB creams are designed to oxidize to match your skin tone. I bounced between fair and light for a while before finally deciding on light as the fair made my skin look “whitish” in photos. I used this product religiously for a couple months and then felt as though I was becoming sensitive to it. I’ve tried their Visible Lift CC cream as well and it has the same effect. That is my own personal dilemma as this BB cream is truly amazing. Before you’ve even finished applying it, you can see it already doing its job. I liked it because I don’t like heavy foundations as they make my dry skin more noticeable. You can use it in place of your foundation if you want a more light-weight option.
A great benefit to BB creams is that most of them have anti-aging benefits. Mica is a big factor you want in your BB cream. Mica is a mineral with light reflecting properties. This is what gives you that luminous finish. Silicon-based ingredients help to smooth the skin, much like a foundation primer.
Application: Apply after moisturizing with a foundation brush. You can set the cream with a powder or wear it on its own.
CC CREAM a.k.a COLOR CORRECTOR
CC creams are where it’s at for me. My skin tone is very uneven and pink all over. Like BB creams, CC creams moisturize and offer sun protection. Unlike BB creams, CC creams help to control unwanted redness and uneven skin tones.
lumene-color-correcting-cream-20-medium_0
I use Lumene’s CC Cream in Light. They only offer two shades: light and medium. This product blends right into my skin and instantly changes the appearance of my skin. The application is very smooth and it only takes a minute to fully apply. I have been using it alone the past few days because I haven’t had the time to focus too much on my face. I have gotten many compliments and recommended this product out to many women. I love that when I get off work and look in the mirror, my skin tone is still in control and I don’t feel a touch up throughout the day is necessary (it does say to reapply every two hours, but I’m 99% positive that’s only for the SPF factor).
The great thing about this product is its 6 benefits and factors all rolled into 1. Foundation, concealer, primer, illuminator, long wear, SPF 20. I find that you do not need to set this product with a powder as I think of it as the perfect product. There will still be days when I use my mattifier, foundation, powder, and setting spray…but when I’m low on prep time, this product alone is my Godsend.
CC creams offer great anti-aging benefits which is becoming very important to me. Up until a couple months ago, I had never given adding an anti-aging regimen to my skin care routine any thought. I’m only 22! And then I started thinking…I’ve been aging since the day I was born, and I’m not stopping anytime soon. So instead of pulling at my wrinkles and fine lines in twenty years, I’m going to start really taking care of my skin.
Obviously, there doesn’t seem to be as much to say about CC as there was about BB, but that’s because they are very similar and do offer many of the same benefits. The main differences is that BB is similar to a foundation, but more light-weight, and CC focuses more on anti-aging while evening out your skin tone.
Application: Apply after a moisturizer with a foundation brush or ring fingers. Wear alone or set with a powder.
—-
I hope all of this was very helpful to you wonderful ladies! If there has been a question left unanswered, I urge you to leave it in the comments below so I can address it in a follow up post!
Shine on!
-KL
One thought on “BB and CC creams, oh my!

Leave a Reply

